Skip to content

Worship….It’s good for what ails ya!

October 18, 2006
tags:

I’m sometimes amazed at the healing qualities that worship has. It seems that no matter what is wrong in my life, if I can just get with God and really enter into worship, everything else just melts away! I know that worship isn’t about us, or about what we feel – that we do it for God and his benefit. I know all that, really…But for me, it has such a profound impact on my heart and my emotions. It’s as if my soul takes this huge sigh of relief, and suddenly I have perspective again. It’s quite magical actually! I needed worship tonight, I really did, and now….I feel whole again. I can think clearly.

I can clearly remember one situation that illustrates this for me. Several years back, when my daughter was just about 5 days old and I was an emotional puddle, I sat down to watch her birth video (since I had not seen it yet). I turned it on and began to watch it. Everything is going great on the video…I start pushing, the baby is about to be born when all of a sudden, the video switches over to us taking her home from the hospital. My husband had been watching the video in the hospital and got sidetracked, so he turned it off. When we took her home, nobody checked to see if the video was cued up to the right place….So we taped over her birth. I FREAKED OUT! You have never seen such a scene. Sobbing, wailing, etc. etc. I was inconsolable! Now in retrospect, had I not been a sleep deprived hormonal new mother I probably would have handled that better, but still, taping over your child’s birth is a hard pill to swallow! Anyway, long story short, in the midst of my hysterical emotional crash I KNEW that I needed to get around some worship. We hadn’t planned on taking the baby to church that night because she was so new, but I HAD to go. So off we go to church.We walk in with a brand new baby that everyone wanted to see and hold. Worship had already started and I just couldn’t stop myself – I practically blew past all these precious people – our church family, to get into the auditorium to worship. I knelt and cried and held my new baby girl and just let God have my heart. And, just like always, when I was done, all seemed right again with the world. It was so tangible and amazing!

So there you have it. That explains my screen-name and my email address. That gives you a little glimpse into who I am. I am a fan of worship. I love worship. I can’t explain strongly enough what it does to my soul. Worship….What an awesome idea! So in the words of an old and precious friend “stick that in your pipe and smoke it” or, if you want to say it a little more gently….Ponder that for awhile!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nannie permalink
    October 18, 2006 9:15 pm

    Dear Tracy,I’m writing this comment because when I was looking at my grandson’s blog and clicked onto the next blog and guess what?,yours popped up. Amazing, too, I’m a Christian woman and also Love Jesus. You really made my evening and enlighted me with you great blog spot, lots of interesting information. Keep up the good work, I’ll be checking in from time to time to see your new posts and learn about your journey with our Lord.Your sister in Christ,Nancyjustinsnannie@aol.com

  2. WorshipFan permalink
    October 18, 2006 10:10 pm

    Thanks! You are my first comment ever – I didn’t know if anyone was reading or not. Your kind words made my day. Blessings, Tracy

Leave a Reply

