Skip to content

Being a parent is an adventure!

January 31, 2007

I’ve had a bad parenting day…the kind you look back on with regret. It’s just hard being a parent sometimes. It’s difficult to want so badly for your kids to make good choices and to have them make bad ones. My almost 4 year old daughter is so delightfully wonderful most of the time…..the moments in between are a huge challenge! She is headstrong and when she digs in her heels there is no changing her mind. Often I admire those qualities in her, but when it is directed at me in the form of defience, sparks often fly, and today they flew like crazy. We made up, and I can only hope that she learned a life lesson from today, but chances are, we will cover this ground many more times in the years to come! Can you ever believe that this face could be anything but angelic?

On the other hand, my 7 1/2 year old is making such progress…he has been thoughtful and considerate and respectful. He frequently makes such good choices. It gives me hope for the future! He had his moments along the way, but with age and maturity has developed into such an awesome kid. Parenting has it’s rewards too! Noah has decided that he wants to be baptized when they have baptisms at the church this weekend. We talked it all through with him and he totally gets it – he is doing it because of his love for Jesus and his desire to make his commitment public. I’m sure I will cry like a baby, but for now I feel nothing but pride at his choices and for the person I see him becoming! Here is my amazing son!

I’m grateful that the good days outnumber the bad ones and that my kids are becoming such awesome and special people…..even when they make me want to run away from home!

Web Counters
Verizon Internet DSL Service

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

