Skip to content

News…Some good, some not!

October 16, 2007

So I’ve been trying to figure out how to update things for the last week, but every-time I started to do it things changed again. Here is the short update – I am once again unemployed. Here is the long update…..things went from bad to worse for me at my job.

 About a week and a half ago, my manager called me into her office and said it was just about time for my 90 day review and she wanted to check and see how I was doing. She asked me point blank on a scale of 1 to 10 where my job satisfaction was at, and since I tend to trust people, I was honest with her that I had been pretty unhappy in this job. She shared that she had been unhappy in the same position when she started with the company and suggested that I contact the HR department and see if they had any other positions open in another area. I thought about it and the next day I did contact the head of HR and explained to her that I was not feeling as if the job was a good fit for me and would be interested in exploring another job with the company. She said she didn’t have anything open right now but would contact me if something opened up.

The end result of that conversation as that by the time I returned home from work that Friday night (about 2 hours later) my job had already been posted for hire on the Internet with several websites. Nothing was ever said again about me possibly taking another position and I saw several other positions listed for hire that I was never told about.

 This past Friday, my manager again called me into her office and said that her manager had been in on Tuesday and had decided that October 31st would be my last day and asked me to sign a notice of voluntary termination. I was shocked! I asked if I could take the weekend and think about it and was told no, I needed to sign it immediately. So, I signed it and left and decided that I would never again be returning. I emailed them over the weekend and explained that I believed I had been treated unfairly and dishonestly and that I would be spending the next 2 weeks looking for full-time employment.

 The weird thing about all of this is that I have only been given positive feedback at every turn about my performance in this job – my manager said I had learned the job quickly, was excellent with the patients, had a professional demeanor etc. When I talked to the HR head earlier on she had told me that she had gotten really good reports about my performance. I simply don’t understand why it was easier for them to simply write me off if I was unhappy than work to find me a position I was happy in. It just doesn’t make any sense!

After recovering from the shock, I have to say that I feel more relieved than anything else. I know it means that we don’t have a full-time job between us, but God is more than capable of taking care of those details. All I know right now is that I feel like I can breath deeply for the first time in 3 months! I have several leads on jobs and am working with 2 employment agencies as is Brian so at least he has been getting some temp stuff. I am trusting God to lead and guide us and provide everything we need.

 That’s the update for us! It’s still quite a roller coaster ride, but we are here and moving forward!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

