Skip to content

Sub Sandwich Snobbery…

January 8, 2008

pennstation.jpgI have absolutely no trouble admitting this to you , the internets. I am a shameless Sub Snob. Fast food is okay most of the time in a pinch, but unlike my kids, I don’t think that the Golden arches are the pinnacle of fine dining. I love going to a sit down restaurant, any kind really. A good sub shop is sort of like the middle ground between the two – it’s better and more relaxing than fast food, but a bit cheaper and quicker than a sit down restaurant.

I’m going to share a little secret with you….I’ve kept it mostly to myself for the last couple of years. If you want to experience deep and abiding satisfaction on a warm bun, get yourself to Penn Station Subs. They are the top of the totem pole my friends in terms of sub sandwiches. I’ve tried others – many others, and nothing even comes close. The chicken Teriyakki  sub is my favorite and it comes pretty much as close to perfection this side of heaven as possible 🙂

When I was preparing to move from Indiana to North Carolina, I called my sister one day and asked her to please find out for me if they had a Penn Station anywhere near. Low and behold, my prayers were answered, for a mere 4 miles from where I live sits only one of two Penn Station Shops in the entire state. It is a beautiful thing! Once we moved and got settled, I quickly won over the affections of my entire family here with the wonder that is a Penn Station Sub. They are hooked for life now!

So, if you want to experience the best sub going, get yourself to Penn Station and try the Chicken Teriyakki  sub. If there is not a Penn Station near you – well, all I can say is I am so very sorry for your loss!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

