Skip to content

A date night in the life…..

February 10, 2008

Friday night my sister kept our kids so Husband and I could have a date. We have had very few of those in the last 8 or 9 months and I was really looking forward to it. Since it’s just a week before Valentines day and we probably won’t get to go out to celebrate this was it for us. So in the interest of full disclosure, I’ll tell you how the evening went!

5pm – I arrived home with high hopes of husband and house being ready to go and husband was still in shower and in HIGH TASK MODE…Translate, not feeling warm and romantic and ready for a special evening! Not what I was hoping for so I got mad and we had a big fight on our way out to the restaurant. Nice huh? – At least you will know we live in the real world with real problems!

6:20 pm arrive at restaurant (Macaroni grill….yum) barely speaking and are shown right away to our table. We finally resolved fight half way through our meal (which was delicious by the way).  Now we are friends again.

7:45 Leave restaurant to drive downtown – we were heading to the IMAX theatre to watch the U2 3D concert. I was really excited about this because Brian is a huge U2 fan. After driving around the block several times we found a parking space.

9pm Movie/Concert starts – it was fantastic. The sound was amazing and with the 3D stuff it felt like Bono was standing about 2 feet in front of us….pretty cool. I’ve always liked U2, but have never really seen them perform – they can perform and sounded amazing. I enjoyed everything about the experience except the guys who reeked of beer sitting in front of us (seriously, all I could smell was beer through the entire show…..kind of gave it that authentic concert feeling) and the 3D glasses that were digging into my nose and leaving red marks. Other than that, I would really recommend it to anyone.

11:30 Home again and we had a great time in spite of the rough start…..Thank heaven we don’t have to worry about impressing each other…I’m pretty sure he will call me for a 2nd date!  And, since it’s not ladylike to kiss and tell that’s all I’m going to say about our evening…….

As an aside, is there anything yummier in life than waking up on a Saturday morning when you are truly ready to wake up and being in a completly quiet house? I love the quiet!!!!! Date nights rock!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

