Skip to content

Harry Potter

February 25, 2008

Okay, I know we are a bit late to the game, but my children have been too young up until this point to have any interest in Harry Potter movies or books. But, my 8 year old son discovered the Harry Potter books this week and he is hooked. He has finished the first and is well on his way through the second.

I know as a Christian there are many people who would argue that I should shield him from these books and the magic and sorcery contained in them. In all fairness, I have not personally read the books, not because I wouldn’t, but because I’m not interested. Honestly though, I’m not inclined to stop him from reading them.  I am a firm believer that we should be educated about the things for which we spout off opinions. I’m not inclined to take the opinions of others as truth without investigating it for myself. And, I really want to have a voice about the culture we live in….it’s tough to do that when you don’t actually participate in that culture. I’m NOT saying that anything goes….and of course you have to use discretion, but I just think a better tactic is to let him read the books, or read them with him, and then discuss them. Ask him what he thinks, talk about the things we might not agree with, show him how to make informed decisions for himself.

So, we will probably be doing Harry Potter for awhile around here – and I’m okay with that. In fact, I welcome the opportunity to open some new lines of communication with my son about spiritual principles and truth. I’m excited about another opportunity to participate with my child in the world and still learn how to be set apart.

photo of Harry Potter Calendar

What do you think? Opinions? Comments?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. michelle permalink
    February 26, 2008 8:46 am

    Hi!

    I just read your post. I am a 29 year old Christian and i absolutely LOVE the HP series…as far as i am concerned, the books are NOT teaching children witchcraft, how to brew potions, or anything of the nature…if anything, the themes throughout (especially in the 7th book) are similar to the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe — love conquers all, sacrifice for your loved ones, etc. — also, i am very close to my pastor and his son (who is 16) — his son is also a huge fan of the series — so if my pastor doesn’t see anything wrong with them, i don’t either — hope this helps! you can email me at mpittman@staffing.net — have a great day!

  2. February 26, 2008 9:34 am

    Hey, Worshipfan!

    I am a 38 year old Christian mother of 2, and I am also a huge fan of the HP series. While my own pastor doesn’t approve of the HP tales, I have read them over and found them to be mostly wonderful from a Christian point of view. The main issue I had with them was the use of tarot cards, but overall, the art of divination is made fun of through Prof. Trelawney. The witchcraft in HP is nothing like wicca or satanism. It doesn’t teach you how to do “real” magic as the characters have to be born into it – it’s in their DNA. There are issues with how some adults are not treated with respect, but much of that is due to how Harry has been treated by those people (such as Uncle Vernon and Prof. Snape).

    The story itself is excellent for showing how children act and think, how they grow and become adults, and how love and redepmtion play out. I understand some people’s worry over the series, but I have to say that I’m glad you’re allowing him to make some of those decisions on his own. My 9 year old likes some things I don’t care for, but as long as I know what he’s reading and he understands how to see those things from a biblical perspective, I believe it’s helpful to the Christian cause. There is nothing more frustrating to hear a Christian bash something only to find out they’ve no clue what they’re talking about, and they’re only repeating the words of a pastor or well-known, well-loved figure (like James Dobson).

    If you would like to discuss anything further, you may message me on my myspace account, and I’ll be glad to answer anything for you.

    Blessings on you and your family,

    Miki

    http://www.myspace.com/jennifermikelle

  3. worshipfan permalink
    February 26, 2008 12:49 pm

    Thanks for the comments Ladies….I appreciate the feedback!
    Blessings,
    Tracy

  4. Jaymie permalink
    February 25, 2009 9:05 am

    Tracy – I was just checking out your new blog and saw this entry. I was a HP holdout for a long time, but a friend of mine suggested I read Looking for God in Harry Potter by John Granger. It helps to have read the books, but he talks about Christian themes in each part of the series. I have read them over and over and love them more each time. In fact, I was talking to my SIL who got sucked into (pardon the pun) reading the Twilight series. This is another series some Christians feel is “wrong.” I haven’t read them more because I am not interested rather than some moral objection. But I told my SIL that if given a choice between reading HP again or reading Twilight, I would totally read HP again.

  5. worshipfan permalink
    February 25, 2009 11:04 am

    Jaymie – I agree completely! I have not checked out the Twilight stuff because my kids are a bit younger than the target audience, but I would at least agree to look into it if/when they became interested.

    The way I see it, God is the granter of all creativity…..and appreciating things that flow out of that, even if they are not “Christian” is ok – and I would even venture to say, honors the one who gave the creative ability in the first place. Obviously, however, there are some boundaries that need to be applied or ANYTHING could be put in that category. But….there is certainly nothing wrong with an open mind and heart that looks for God’s fingerprints in less obvious places!

Leave a Reply

