Skip to content

American Idol Thoughts…

March 12, 2008

Let’s talk American Idol Peeps! Top twelve……there is a lot of talent here!

 Here are my thoughts: 

Love the stage and backdrop. Love the lighting and the band sounded fantastic.

I could really do without all the nasty banter between the judges and especially between Ryan and Simon. I am 100% for fun and even a bit of sarcasm here and there, but they take it WAY too far. It’s distracting, unprofessional and makes them look childish. Also, a little less eye rolling and dirty looks from Simon would be appreciated! It’s about the music people!!!

The Performances:

Syesha Mercado – “Got To Get You Into My Life” I have liked her a lot all along, but this was not my favorite performance that she has given. She is better than she showed tonight, but still, it was good and she continues to be adorable! Great stage presence.

Chikezie – “She’s A Woman” – Haven’t been a big fan up until tonight….I could not believe this was the same Chikezie! Where did he come from? I thought he knocked it out of the park…..and looked fantastic to boot!

Ramiele Malubay – “In My Life” –  It was Okay, but not great.  I think she is better than the performance she gave. As always, she is too cute…..who else could look sweetly at the judges when they critique her a bit harshly and say “it’s okay” with a smile!

Jason Castro – “If I Fell” – I thought he did a nice job, but nothing special. I’m a bit undecided on him…sometimes I like him (like last week – he was fantastic) and sometimes I don’t. The jury is still out on this one!

Carly Smithson – “Come Together” – She ROCKED that song! Seriously, that girl can SING! Oh my goodness, I loved her performance and would absolutely pay to download that song for my little iPod!David Cook – “Eleanor Rigby” – Again, FANTASTIC! Totally likable arrangement of that song….and I’m not a big fan of it. Loved the rocker vibe and he was right on with his vocals. For me, he keeps getting better and better.

Brooke White – “Let It Be” –  I really like Brooke, and think she is enormously talented. She did an fantastic performance that was really unique and different tonight. I enjoyed it and here a lot……I see something truly genuine about her that I enjoy. Sadly, I don’t see her making it to the top of this group – but, you never know.

David Hernandez – “I Saw Her Standing There” –  Didn’t like what he did at all. I thought it was weak and not very enjoyable. I think he is probably the weakest of the guys right now from a musical standpoint, plus he lost some points for me (and probably a lot of other people with the working in a stip-club scandal. Not wild about him right now!

Amanda Overmyer – “You Can’t Do That” – I don’t enjoy her sound, but I do think she is talented. I just don’t think she has enough versatility. She is kind of a one trick pony, and I don’t think that is enough. Her hair, on the other hand, looked really good tonight!

Michael John – “Across The Universe” – It was okay, but again, not fantastic. I think he has more in him than he is showing us.

Kristi Lee Cook – “Eight Days A Week” – It was terrible. Not at all transferable to a country sound. I have thought for awhile that she was one of the weakest of the females and frankly thought she might go last week. She just isn’t cutting it for me.

David Archuleta – “We Can Work It Out” – Okay, David is absolutely ADORABLE and likeable. I think he is probably my favorite. I just want to squeeze him he is so cute. He has been consistent and that will probably save him, but tonight was pretty weak. I think he can recover, and I think he could and maybe should win, but he’s going to have to bump it up a notch.

Should go: Kristi Lee Cook…..she is flat out the weakest of all of them. The only thing I can think of that would save her would be a huge swell of support from all those country music fans out there (of which I am not now, nor ever will be included!)

Best of the night: For me, it was a tie between Chikezie, David Cook and Carly. I just can’t make up my mind! 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

