Skip to content

American Idol Gives Back…..

April 9, 2008

Did you watch Idol Gives Back tonight? It was a monster in terms of time…. 2 1/2 hours long! Lots and lots of good information and awareness raised. Spotlighting global poverty and working to fight it is always a good thing in my opinion. So from that standpoint, I liked it.

The cheese factor, however, was high tonight. There were alot of silly and downright cheesy moments. At the very top of the list for me? The “Finale” where the 8 finalists, dressed all in white, sang “Shout to The Lord” – a classic worship song. For me, it came off as very contrived and insincere. AND, I couldn’t help but notice that they changed the lyrics to eliminate the word JESUS…..a pretty central theme to the song I think. They changed Jesus to the apparently more PC “Shepherd”. I’m not about throwing the “religion” into people’s faces in overt and insensitive ways, but if you are going to pick a song like that to showcase, why take the name Jesus out of it? It just seemed weird and showy to me – not the effect they were going for I would guess.

What did you think? Thoughts, opinions?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Seb permalink
    April 10, 2008 6:41 pm

    I kinda agree that it was a tat contrived and cheesy with the Top8 dressed in white. I was pleasantly surprised but that performance gave me a bit of a goose pimple. It was nice, but I couldn’t help but think that it was a final effort to appeal for donation from evangelicals.

  2. Randy permalink
    April 12, 2008 1:28 pm

    You might want to check out http://www.joshharris.com for some interesting discussion on this topic.

Leave a Reply

