Skip to content

Birthdays….

August 8, 2008
tags: , ,

My first baby….my son, is turning 9 tomorrow. I’m stunned at how quickly those 9 years have passed. I know every parent says that….but it’s true! It really seems like just a few months ago I was driving to the hospital at 10pm – excited, nervous, exhilarated…a huge bundle of emotions! Of all the emotions I can remember feeling that night, the strongest one, however,  was the overwhelming desire to just meet my son. I wanted to know him…learn about him…see who he was. 

At 12:45pm on Monday August 9th, 1999 I met my son….and I’m so glad I did. He has been a joy, a delight, a challange, a growth agent….he has been so many things in my life, but the thing I’m most grateful for is that he has given me a glimpse of the heart God has for me…for us. I get God as my father in such a deeper way because of the last nine years!

I think we are entering a new season over the next nine years when he will be “officially” an adult. We are at the half-way point. Instead of watching him grow into a boy and seeing him become his own person, now I’m starting to watch him grown into a man…and learn how to stand on his own. I’m seeing glimpses of this more every day, and truthfully? It both delights and scares me! The other day I was trying to move something heavy and he jumped up and said “let me do that for you Mommy – I don’t want you to hurt yourself” I told him that I was fine….and his response? “Well let’s keep it that way…let me do it!” It’s precious to watch that man’s heart developing in him.

So, happy birthday to my precious gift Noah….I love you more than you can know and am grateful for every moment I have had with you…good and bad! May the next season of your life be full of delight and awe as we both discover the path that God is laying before you and you learn to travel that new road. Thanks for being my son….and thanks for being who you are! And…..thank you Father….for giving him to me!

One Comment leave one →
  1. amyloublog permalink
    August 9, 2008 7:57 pm

    Oh man, there should have been a disclaimer at the beginning, warning me to grab the Kleenex. Well said! Happy Birthday Noah! I remember visiting you when you were just a wee little one.

Leave a Reply

