Skip to content

Fireproof…

October 20, 2008

Okay, let me say first of all that I am not usually easily swayed by hype. The fact that this movie has gotten a lot of great press in the Christian Community doesn’t necessarily mean that it appeals to me. Let’s just say that I sometimes have issues with the whole “Christian Sub-culture”.

That being said, however, I went to see Fireproof this past weekend with my husband and parents. If you haven’t heard of this movie you can read about it here. You guys???? I seriously cried though at LEAST half of this movie! At one point, I was crying, my dad was crying, my mom was crying and my husband was crying. While I recognize that the ability to make one cry is not the only benchmark of a good movie, it does attest on some level to the emotional impact that it leaves on you.  I don’t know that I have ever seen a more heart wrenching depiction of marital difficulty or the impact it leaves on the people involved. It was almost breathtaking for me to witness the effect that coming to Jesus can have on a person’s heart and their relationships….and it was so realistically portrayed.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again….Jesus is all about changing lives. He is all about changing marriages, and relationships. If you want to see a great portrayal of the reality of that change, then see this movie!

One quick side note, and my only “complaint” about the movie. The acting…especially in the first 15-20 min. of the movie, was pretty sub-par. I wish that we could make something that has the high standards of quality films, but has the message that this one does. Maybe we will get there.

Watch the trailer at:
http://www.fireproofthemovie.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

