Skip to content

Voting, elections and other angst….

November 4, 2008

yourvotecounts

I voted this morning – and I cried when I did it. Not because my emotions or my future are tied up in the results of an election…but because it’s an awesome privilege that we have as Americans. I won’t tell you who I voted for because it really does not matter…what matters is this:

I want to go on record here. I’ve very intentionally kept out of the political avalanche of information swirling around for months. This simply isn’t the place. I’ve heard the arguments on both sides. I’ve seen the finger pointing, I’ve witnessed the division…..and it has saddened me.

Here is the bottom line for me. God is still in control. The moral and spiritual and economic health of our country doesn’t rest in the hands of one man…..it rests in the hands of each of us. There is no need for panic…just a need for prayer.

When we wake up tomorrow with a new president elected – God will still rule and reign. When we walk through the next 4 years with that president, good or bad – God will still rule and reign.  Sure we have to do our part, sure we need to participate in the process….but if we don’t do it with love in our hearts we are missing something.

My friend Paul sent me in email yesterday that said “The truth is, we will be better off, or worse off, not because of who wins the election but because of how we treat each other, and how we respond to the hurting and helpless — the least of these — among us. We will be better or worse off because of how we treat those who think and vote differently than we do.” You can read the rest of his thoughts here.

Amen friend….amen. Pray today for our country….our WHOLE country and not just the Democrat part or the Republican part. Pray for BOTH of the men who could lead our country….and commit to support them regardless of your politics.

And now, I will return to business as usual – and no more politics!  If you haven’t already….go vote. Vote with your heart, vote with your concscience and leave the results in God’s hands – they are big enough to hold us all.

Now, if you want to make a difference in another way, go here and sponsor a child – you will change their life forever!  To read the latest on the blogger tour to the Dominican Republic, go here

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2008 11:41 am

    I couldn’t agree more! I keep thinking of the verse this morning, “Some trust in horses and some in chariots (or politicians or wealth…or….), but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.”

    The bottom line is this: God will still be God. He alone is faithful and last time I checked, He’s neither Democrat nor Republican.

    I’m voting because it’s my right and privilege. This post from my friend was another powerful reminder: http://hwevents.typepad.com/trulyperfect/2008/11/vote-you-are-definitely-worth-the-wait.html

    Like you, I’m not getting into the politics part. I’m voting and talking to our children about voting. I’m telling them that not all politicians tell the truth and how some use fear to swing the vote. We’ve talked about how to research platforms and comments. I’m reminding them that prayer and listening for God’s voice is important.

    I’ll also share your words: We will be better or worse off because of how we treat those who think and vote differently than we do.

    Blessings!

  2. November 4, 2008 12:31 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement Cheryl, I believe every word that I said. God is much bigger than one man or one election!

Leave a Reply

