Skip to content

Creative Crap?

February 25, 2009

creativity

I ran across this fantastic quote today from Prodigal John (author of the fantastic blog Stuff Christians Like)  on twitter “Sometimes we focus more on getting people to share what we create virally than we do focusing on making stuff that is worth sharing.”

Excellent point! How much of what we “create” on our blogs, social networking, email or any other online community is actually worth sharing? I’ll include myself in this category….are the things we “create” just noise? Are they truly benefiting anybody?

What are your thoughts?????

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 12:34 pm

    totally agree but I think it is a maturing that everyone goes through at a different rate…

    I started looking at what was shared on twitter and what I shared on twitter and my blog. To me, if I am not creating some kind of added value to whatever it is I am doing, why bother doing it in the first place.

    Twitter is an amazing example… you are given 140 characters to create VALUE, so choose wisely and think.

  2. February 25, 2009 3:40 pm

    Excellent point Scott….it is a maturing process. I would like to think I’ve worked through this process, but I realize that I still have more work to do. I’m as guilty as anybody of posting something simply to get a reaction or to get noticed without any thought for the value of what I’m putting out there.

    And Twitter is a good example…I’ve often been forced to rewrite and edit to condense what I’m saying in a short amount of space to really get the point across without a lot of words.

Leave a Reply

