Skip to content

American Idol recap…

February 26, 2009

I will freely admit that I am hooked on the whole American Idol thing (and yes….I do still have issues with the name – Idol? Seriously?) and have enjoyed season 8 so far – until last night.

WHAT was up with those 12 folks last night? Was that seriously the best they could do? I didn’t find one performance to be excellent or even particularly noteworthy – with the possible exception of Adam Lambert who sang last. Vocally he was outstanding, but the dramatic performance was a little annoying.

Last week there were some clear standouts in the crowd (Danny Gokey anyone?) but this week is a tough call….I just don’t think anybody set themselves apart.

What are your thoughts?

My prediction?  gokeyai

This  guy is going all the way to the top 2.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2009 12:05 pm

    I hope he doesn’t, because I feel it will validate these people:

    http://topidol.wordpress.com/2009/02/14/the-curious-world-of-faith-builders-international-ministries/

    Seriouly? The Style ministry? Uhh. But I guess it’s American Idol, so what should we expect?

    Anyway, I am having a lot of trouble getting into this season, like you. I liked the gal that sang “Alone” last night, and I think that last little boy totally tore up his song, but I am seeing a ton of really bad singers in this lineup this year.

  2. worshipfan permalink
    February 26, 2009 1:18 pm

    Umm…wow. Not sure what to say about that! I’d have to hear something from a less anonymous source to feel like it’s truly reliable….but anybody who knows me well will know that if that is true I have absolutely no patience for that type of thing….none.

    As for Danny Gokey? I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt because I haven’t come up with a better alternative to cheer for…and I’ll hope that his involvement with a questionable ministry organization is limited at best.

    And style ministry? Seriously? I’ll have to do some soul searching and prayer to decide if not wearing make-up could be considered a sin 🙂

    Sigh…..this is why the world things Jesus is for losers…cause there are so many of them out there spouting off crap and attributing it to him.

  3. February 27, 2009 1:04 pm

    I only buy it because I have seen (and been part of) very similar things in the past, that the church website smacks of that sort of thing.

    Anyways…yeah, we’d be so much more productive for the kingdom if we weren’t always having to make up for bozo christianity just to get back to a clean slate.

Leave a Reply

