Skip to content

Pig scare tactics….

April 29, 2009

Have you heard the hype about the “Swine Flu”? If you haven’t, I’m surprised. It’s almost all the news media can seem to talk about. Did you know that this is old news? Check out this PSA from 1976 (HT to Brad Ruggles)

I’ve been hoping they would let it die (no pun intended) but no such luck. According to USA today it may “cripple” the travel industry. And really…with the economy as bad as it is (don’t get me started on that broken record) who needs another industry to be crippled?

Here’s what I think….LET IT GO! Report the facts, and stop scaring people! Don’t make it a story on every single newscast, print feature and online report.

More people die of regular old influenza B every year than the potential for the swine flu by far. Wash your hands, avoid sick people, stay home if you are sick – it’s not news!

On the upside…at least the scare tactics have gotten a little more subtle. Did you check out the horror movie-ish camera work and background music for the PSA? I think I might need to run out and get a swine flu shot before I infect my entire town!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 2:45 pm

    FOR REAL! There are many things that are much more newsworthy. And people that are suffering WAY worse. Preach it sister! 🙂

  2. April 29, 2009 2:48 pm

    I could get on the soapbox of how many people die from malnutrition and preventable hunger that the media never reports…but I’ll refrain.

    Oh wait, I guess I already got on that particular soapbox.

Leave a Reply

