Skip to content

Are we seriously THAT lazy?

May 22, 2009

I’m aware that America, as a culture has something of a reputation of being “lazy” and taking the easy way out. 

I know, I know……Not every  reputation is valid or justly earned. True enough. BUT, the observation I’m about to make isn’t really helping our case much.

Have you ever seen one of these?

 

handicapped-button

 

Yep – me too. What is that button for? I was under the impression that it was there for individuals who were handicapped in some fashion and unable to hold the door open to walk through.  Push the button and it opens the door giving the handicapped or incapacitated person enough time to go through without hindrance right?

I work in an office building that has one of these nifty buttons on the door that I use to enter and exit the building every day. I’m glad it’s there for the people who might need it…I truly am.

Here is the sad observation I’ve made though. I have never seen a handicapped person use that button in the year that I’ve been working in this building – it may happen from time to time, but I’ve never witnessed it. What I do see nearly every day, however, is healthy and fully functional individuals using that button to open the door for them. These are not people who have really full hands and are hitting the button with their hip so they don’t drop something…nope. I’m talking about normal people carrying nothing more than a purse or a lunch bag hitting the button on their way into or out of the building and waiting for the doors to open for them so they can walk through.

This honestly baffles me….are we seriously THAT lazy or am I simply missing something? Is it that difficult to open a door?

What’s up with that?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel Owen permalink
    May 22, 2009 10:48 am

    Yep. We are that lazy … and worse! Thanks for giving me a laugh! This is the kind of stuff I’ll rant and rave about for 4 or 5 days. 🙂

  2. May 22, 2009 10:52 am

    I kind of thought so….I don’t know why but it bugs me every time I see somebody do it.

    Don’t even get me started about the people who use the handicapped restroom stalls because the stalls are bigger!

  3. May 22, 2009 8:28 pm

    funny i see this. i saw a 20-something-year-old use the nice button today. he had no discernible physical ailment. i was a little frustrated by it.

  4. May 23, 2009 9:51 am

    Thanks Jordan.. I love your picture!!

Leave a Reply

