Skip to content

April Rose Thoughts….

June 10, 2009

I thought about saying nothing concerning this topic because I don’t want to contribute to the noise swirling around. I guess in some ways it’s really none of my business, but I do have a few thoughts that I want to share about this “scandal”.

For those of you who are reading and saying “what the heck is she talking about” Let me briefly fill you in. A blog was started in March or April of this year by a young mother named “B” who wished to remain anonymous and wanted to chronicle her pregnancy with a baby that had been diagnosed as terminal or “not compatible with life”. This blog quickly gained attention as several well known bloggers caught wind of the story and thousands of people begain visiting and praying for this little girl who had been named “Little April Rose”. “B” wrote beautifully and eloquently about her thoughts, emotions, fears and her faith.  I too followed her blog for several months praying for April Rose and her safe healthy birth.

On Sunday of this past week, word began circulating on twitter and in the blogsphere  that April Rose had been born.  Many updates on her condition after birth were posted, along with a few photos. On Monday, suddenly all the blog posts, pictures and updates were gone and the buzz began that the entire thing was a hoax.

Several of the prominent bloggers who drew attention to this story addressed the situation with a post that can be found here containing their thoughts and sad conclusion that the entire situation was indeed ficticious – they handled it with grace, diplomacy and great tact.

I have absolutely no intention of adding to the gossip or speculation that is swirling surrounding this unfortunate situation. What has happened is between the individuals who were directly involved in the events that took place. God alone knows the hearts and minds of those involved.

Is it sad and disappointing that somebody would deceive in this way? Absolutely.  I understand the hurt or confusion that some may be experiencing at having been deceived. What I don’t understand, however, is the rage and the lack of mercy that has been given. I have seen terrible things said and written in the last few days about this individual. I have seen a great deal of speculation and finger pointing as well.

Here is the bottom line, for me. Judgement doesn’t belong to me – it belongs to God. He knows her heart and her situation intimately. He knows HER and loves her deeply and without reservation. She was created in his image. 

Descending like a pack of wolves to point fingers and throw stones when somebody makes a mistake or even deliberatly hurts doesn’t bring about redemption. Love, mercy and prayer bring about redemption.

Were the thousands upon thousands of prayers given on her behalf wasted as some have said? I don’t believe so. Prayer is never wasted. Prayer is about intimate communion between you and your Father – how can that be wasted? Were the people who sent gifts betrayed and wronged? Possibly…..but I prefer to think that if I am obedient to my Father and he leads me to give in some fashion to anybody, it’s not my concern what they do with that gift. If I give to somebody who is deceptive, all I have to know is that I followed the prompting of the Lord – the rest is up to him.

I’m sure that eventually this story will fade away and people will move on. New stories will surface and we will be faced with a decision to react out of anger and distrust…and in doing so, stop being the hands and feet of Jesus to a broken world. We will probably never know if the majority of people we come into contact with are giving us the straight story. If we close off our hearts, we are missing out on the amazing privilege of being part of those stories that ARE true. We can protect ourselves, but the cost is high.

I’m choosing to trust and love in spite of occasional disappointment. I hope you will to!

I’m praying that wherever “B” is right now that she is surrounded by people who love her unconditionally and will help her walk through this very difficult time – and point her towards redemption.

rose

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel O. permalink
    June 10, 2009 10:49 am

    Great blog! I had not heard about April Rose until your blog, but I wanted to applaud you for your response. You have a great attitude, perspective, and compassion. You’re awesome!

  2. June 10, 2009 11:20 am

    Thanks Rachel! What comes out of this is in large part up to us….I believe that Grace can change everything.

  3. amy permalink
    June 12, 2009 4:04 pm

    remember what jonathan edwards used to say when he saw a drunk, or a harlot, or some other “sinner”

    “but for the grace of God, there go I”

    that is how i feel about “B”. the truth is that we are all liars at heart, whether we get caught in a huge public lie like her, or we lie about tiny little so-called nothings to our husbands, bosses, or friends. yes, as followers of Christ He gives us the grace to walk obediently and be truthful, but without Him, none of us is any better than “B”, we are all sinners.

    judgement belongs to God alone. i do not say that we can’t judge that lying is wrong. we know that it is from the bible. we can judge the sin, but not the sinner. i want to be merciful and loving to “B” as I would want her to be to me if all my sins were made public!

  4. June 12, 2009 4:09 pm

    Well said Amy….I’m grateful that my sins are not public fodder for the masses. The human heart is capable of a whole lot of “crap” mixed in with the good, and mine is no exception!

Leave a Reply

