Skip to content

Adventures in law-breaking…

August 12, 2009

I would not consider myself a law breaker by nature. I’m a pretty “by the rules” kind of girl. That being said, when it comes to driving, I find it almost impossible to go EXACTLY the speed limit. I don’t drive recklessly or overly fast, but I do speed frequently.

I’ve never had a speeding ticket before, probably because I tend to keep it in that “fast but not too fast” category. Either that, or I’ve just been lucky. Whatever the case, my luck ran out on July 4, 2009.

 I was driving home from Target with some groceries for a cookout we had planned later that day with friends. I didn’t feel like I was going too fast, but apparently the State Trooper who was hiding in the bushes did. Either  that or he was bored and wanted to see the mom in the van cry! Whatever the case, I saw those flashing blue lights behind me and knew I was busted – 1/3 of a mile away from my house.

He pulled me over and asked why I was speeding to which I replied “I didn’t know I was speeding”. It probably was not the best answer I could have given but it was true. He asked me if I had ever had a ticket before and when I said no he handed me a ticket for $150.  Driving 58 in a 45. So much for warnings. The amazing part is that the ticket itself was for $30…the other $120 was for “court costs”

Ticket excuses

On Monday of this week I went to court for my stupid  expensive ticket. I figured it was worth a shot. After standing in line with all the other law breakers speeders I had a chance to play “Lets Make a Deal” with the DA. I had all kind of excellent suggestions for him, he wasn’t impressed by any of them. His final offer was reducing it to 50 in a 45. $15 fine but still $120 in court costs. After all that wheeling and dealing, turns out I didn’t have the cash on me to pay at the time and they don’t take checks so I have to go back AGAIN in September to pay it.

The moral of the story? Crime doesn’t pay, the posted speed limit isn’t a suggestion…. and it’s wise to have a radar detector!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet permalink
    August 13, 2009 5:31 pm

    Tracy,

    Love it, I got my first ticket when your Uncle Bob was still alive and he took my license plates off my car and I said well you might as well take my payment book too.. Moral of the story I got my car and plates back and he never yelled again.

  2. Janet permalink
    August 13, 2009 5:31 pm

    Never speed on a Holiday they are waiting for that!

Leave a Reply

