Skip to content

I have an agenda

September 8, 2009

politics

I try to stay out of politics – for two reasons. The first is that I’m aware of my lack of understanding about, well, a lot. I don’t want to talk about things that I don’t fully understand. The second reason? It’s too divisive. Seriously…I have seen otherwise rational and reasonable people get worked into an angry frenzy while discussing political “hot buttons” with people who’s views don’t quite match their own.

Let’s face it, a good deal of political opinion is simply that – opinion. You may be able to back it up with something, but that something usually leads back to the opinion of somebody else.

I have my opinions just like everyone else, and I hold them dear to my heart – cause I’m usually right you see! (I kid….) and I am smart enough to admit that my opinions and view aren’t always “right” even though they may be right for me and my family. My hubby and I voted differently in the presidential election this past year, and we never fought about it one time – it never even crossed our minds to debate it with each other!

My point is, that I get it.  I understand that not everyone agrees with our President as a man, as a leader…and for some, as ANYTHING. I get that he has inspired controversy among many, but especially among Christians. We are all entitled to our opinions and convictions. What I don’t understand or agree with, however, is the loud and angry outcry that I’ve heard about something as seemingly innocent and innocuous as a Presidential speech to school children (you can find the text of the speech here)

I simply don’t understand why I would need to “protect” my children from “this kind of garbage” (these are direct quotes I’ve read in the last few days) or that I should “stand up for my country and my family and refuse to let something as dangerous as this take place” of even that “as a concerned parent I should make sure that these messages from the liberal government won’t take root in my child’s heart”  All of these quotes came from Brothers or Sisters in Christ – people who are called to love lavishly. What message is this sending out to the rest of the world?

The way I understand the Bible, Jesus was pretty clear that the entire gospel could be summed up one way.  “Love God, and love people” I’ve taken that to heart and for me it means “ALWAYS fall on the side of loving someone. Love first, and ask questions later” I happen to think that includes politics. I can disagree, I can feel defensive, I can even feel justified in my thinking, but if I’m not LOVING with my words and actions then I have failed to live out the one thing Jesus has asked of me.

Sure it’s hard – we may feel like our “Christian values” have been threatened…but have they? Isn’t God still Sovereign? Doesn’t he still rule and reign? Does putting our trust in God mean that we still have to defend our “religious rights?”

I read a blog post from Eugene Cho that you can find here. In this post, he pointed out “I’m also very concerned at our collective inability or unwillingness to listen to others that don’t share in our personal worldviews…” Ouch! I may not agree with President Obama, or you, or my husband, or somebody I work with, but aren’t they a person created in God’s image who deserves my respect and willingness to listen?

I wrote this in response to  Shaun Groves facebook post on the topic of this “controversial speech”

“Since I’m too chicken to say this on my own blog or facebook page….I’m frankly heartsick and horrified at the way much of the “body of Christ” has handled this. What image are we sending out to the rest of the world? Intolerant? Paranoid? Self Righteous? Arrogant? Willing to shoot off our mouths without regard to anybody else or without being able to back up our bad behavior?

I have seen NOTHING that convinces me that I need to be concerned, alarmed, angry, defensive or protective of my children’s innocence throughout this whole controversy. Honestly, I’m more inclined to want to protect my children from this type of attitude coming from people that should know better and love better… At least that’s what I WOULD say if I wasn’t afraid of offending…”

And you know what? It probably will offend somebody. I hate offending anyone…but I’ve decided that I’m ok with it in some cases if I’m not offending Christ. His is the only opinion that matters actually. I realize that I have just as much of an agenda as everyone else,  but I’ve decided that my agenda needs to be bringing honor to Jesus. I want to learn gracious disagreement, how to love those whose actions and worldviews don’t match my own. And maybe, just maybe….I’ll grow in the process and find that sometimes I’m not right!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Robyn permalink
    September 8, 2009 2:33 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. I read the speech twice and found not a single thing that I can object too. But I have, repeatedly over the last week or so found much to disagree with in regards to the things I have been hearing from Christians about the speech. I would much rather protect my children from that…

  2. Melissa Williams permalink
    September 8, 2009 3:05 pm

    Thanks Tracy for sharing your thoughts. This was encouraging.

  3. September 8, 2009 3:11 pm

    Thanks ladies….I appreciate the encouragement!

  4. September 8, 2009 3:18 pm

    Amen Sista!

Leave a Reply

